You can create automatic rules that will route proposals that meet specified criteria to other people in your organization to approve before the proposal can be sent to a customer.
In order to access the Approval Rules section of GleanQuote, you must either be an Admin user or have Proposal Approval Rule permission settings of All
Start by clicking the New Approval Rule button on the Approval Rules tab under Proposals:
This launches the New Approval Rule modal:
Tip: Name your rule so that it reflects the condition because the rule name is what the approving users will see when getting an approval notification.
You can select multiple users to approve any proposal meeting the conditions for this rule.
If you do not check the Approval by all users is required box, then the user creating the proposal will be able to choose which selected user to send the approval notification. Otherwise, if the box is checked, the approval will be required by all of the selected users.
If you want the approval users to be able to view the proposal cost report as part of the approval process, then check the Include cost report view for all users check box.
If you do not enter any conditions for the rule, then ALL proposals will need to be approved by the Approved by users selected.
Once you create a rule, you will be able to view summary information from the Approval rules list view. You can edit, delete or duplicate the rule from this view and also toggle the rule off with the Active Toggle.
When a user sends a proposal that triggers an approval rule, the standard send modal displays.
Once the user clicks the Send Proposal button, the following dialog will display and the proposal will not be sent.
One the approving user is selected, and the Send Notifications button is clicked, the status of the proposal will be changed to Pending Approval and the approving user will receive the following email notification:
The approval user can then open the proposal and review the proposal:
If the Include Cost view for all approval users box is checked, then an additional button will display on the reader for View Cost Report.
If the user clicks the View Cost Report button, then the following view will display, which includes cost and margin.
If the approval user clicks the Approve button, the user that requested the approval and all approval users will receive the following email notification.
If the approval user Rejects the proposal, a reason for the rejection can be input. This reason will be displayed on the rejection notification back to the user requesting approval and the proposal status will change to Rejected. Even if there are multiple required approvals, a rejection from only one of the approval users puts the proposal in Rejected status. At that point, the proposal must be edited and returns to draft status once edited.
Once all of the approval users have approved the proposal, the proposal status will be changed to Approved and the proposal can then be sent from the proposal overview page by clicking the Send button.
NOTE: The proposal will not automatically be sent once it's approved - it must be manually sent via the Send button on the proposal overview page.
A proposal approval request can be resent from the three dot menu on any proposal in approval pending status:
The tracking page of the proposal will be updated with approval and send date/time: